Skip to content

America's Best Incubators and Accelerators

A TIME and Statista list of the 80 best U.S. incubators and accelerators, scored mostly on alumni survey responses. It mixes national accelerators (Techstars, MassChallenge, Y Combinator), university programs and regional nonprofits, and gives a founder-satisfaction view rather than an outcomes view.

Reliability
Grade D · 4/12
Publisher
TIME
Ranks
Accelerators, United States (incubators and accelerators)
Editions
1 since 2026
Method
Survey
How items get in
Self-nominated
Status
New
America's Best Incubators and Accelerators
SectionEditions
Actions

Editions

EditionPublishedTop of the listOn record
2026August 18, 2026Techstars80

How the ranking works

Eligible programs had to be physically located in the U.S., offer at least one program and have operated since at least 2022. Statista ran an open application for programs, an alumni survey (more than 2,000 alumni responded, covering 2020 to 2025 cohorts) and an expert survey of investors and entrepreneurs.

The score (0 to 100) weights alumni recommendation on a 0 to 10 scale at 40%, alumni ratings of six services (mentoring and training, infrastructure, legal assistance, funding opportunities, networking, business development advice) at 45%, a track record analysis of each program's top five startups at 10%, and expert recommendations at 5%. The number of programs evaluated was not disclosed.

Scores only: Indicator scores are published without a single overall rank. Programs register for free through Statista (January 12 to May 1, 2026) and share an alumni survey link; alumni and experts can also respond directly. Inclusion is free, but use of the official award logo requires a one-time licensing fee paid to Statista.

Read the publisher’s methodology

How far to trust it

Superscout grades every ranking on six criteria, each scored 0 to 2. America's Best Incubators and Accelerators scores 4 of 12, grade D.

Transparency 2/2
Weights, criteria and per-program scores are published.
Independence 1/2
Free entry, but Statista sells logo licenses to ranked programs.
Evidence 1/2
Survey-heavy (alumni and experts) with a small track record component.
Stability 0/2
First edition; no history of method consistency.
Coverage 0/2
Only programs that applied and gathered alumni responses are ranked.
Track record 0/2
First edition in 2026.

History

TIME announced the project on January 12, 2026, as part of its series of Statista-built rankings, and published the first list of 80 programs on August 18, 2026. Statista's participation page already advertises a 2027 edition.

How it is received

Ranked programs promoted their placements quickly (Techstars, MassChallenge, mHUB, UF Innovate, Fuel, Nucleate). Techstars described the method as one where 'founders decided almost all of it', since alumni input makes up 85% of the score.

The design has built-in limits: programs must opt in and mobilize their alumni to respond, so results reflect participation and satisfaction more than startup outcomes, and Statista earns revenue from optional award-logo licenses sold to listed programs. No independent critique of this specific list was found.

Strengths

  • Free to enter and open to any U.S. program operating since 2022.
  • Publishes a score for each program and the component weights.
  • Captures founder experience from more than 2,000 alumni responses.
  • Covers university, nonprofit and regional programs that outcome-based lists miss.

Weaknesses

  • Opt-in: programs that did not register or mobilize alumni cannot appear.
  • 85% of the score is alumni satisfaction, with only 10% on startup track record.
  • Statista sells award-logo licenses to listed programs.
  • Only one edition so far; the number of programs evaluated is not disclosed.
  • Many adjacent scores differ by hundredths of a point.

Open questions

Facts not verified yet. They stay visible so they are not mistaken for settled facts.